About the Robert H. Weaver Council #12005

The Knights of Columbus Robert H. Weaver Council #12005 was chartered on May 25, 1997.

As one of the nation’s oldest service organizations, we offer programs for members and their families such as athletic and recreational programs, community service, involvement with youth and a feeling of belonging that new friendships can provide. Membership is open to all Catholic Men, 18 years or older who practice their faith.

Applications for membership can be submitted anytime. Membership is granted after Council approval and formal induction into the First Degree, which occur 3 - 4 times per year. Transfer into the Council from another Council can be granted at any time.

About the Knights of Columbus

Thanks to the efforts of Father Michael J. McGivney, assistant pastor of St. Mary’s Church in New Haven and some of his parishioners, the Connecticut state legislature on March 29, 1882, officially chartered the Knights of Columbus as a fraternal benefit society. The Order is still true to its founding principles of charity, unity and fraternity.

The Knights was formed to render financial aid to members and their families. Mutual aid and assistance are offered to sick, disabled and needy members and their families. Social and intellectual fellowship is promoted among members and their families through educational, charitable, religious, social welfare, war relief and public relief works.

The history of the Order shows how the foresight of Father Michael J. McGivney, whose cause for sainthood is being investigated by the Vatican, brought about what has become the world's foremost Catholic fraternal benefit society. The Order has helped families obtain economic security and stability through its life insurance, annuity and long-term care programs, and has contributed time and energy worldwide to service in communities.

The Knights of Columbus has grown from several members in one council to more than 14,000 councils and 1.8 million members throughout the United States, Canada, the Philippines, Mexico, Poland, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Panama, the Bahamas, the Virgin Islands, Cuba, Guatemala, Guam, Saipan, Lithuania, Ukraine, and South Korea.